trending / - - - - - - - - -

trending / playstation 4 - ni no kuni - halo - wii u - bungie interview - ces top picks - radeon hd 7850 - woods pga tour

Ben Jordan Case 8 Released

/ Aug 19th, 2012 No Comments

Since the seventh game in the freeware Ben Jordan: Paranormal Investigator PC adventure series was released in 2007, fans have been waiting to discover the fate of its titular freelance paranormal investigator, Ben Jordan. The game ended on a tragic cliffhanger, being a precursor to the next game and leaving its hero in a hapless position.

The wait is now over. The next game in the series has been released after four years of continual development and is one of the most ambitious entries of the series.

The game, Ben Jordan: Paranormal Investigator Case 8: Relics of the Past is set in 2004, picking up a few hours after the previous game with Ben Jordan arriving in London. Emboldened by the tragic aftermath of his last case in Rome, Jordan takes off on a whirlwind quest to stop the mad designs of a individual hell bent on using the paranormal to his whim. With only his intelligence and a few remaining allies to help him Jordan has only two days  to prevent the villain’s plans from going into effect.

The game, like the previous games, is a third-person, point-and-click adventure game made using the Adventure Game Studio engine by Chris Jones. It  is one of the longest entries in the series, featuring full voice acting, multiple endings, challenging puzzles and two commentaries discussing the behind the scenes elements of this game’s creation.

It is also the final game in the series. Its developer and creator, Francisco Gonzalez, has done his utmost to give a memorable farewell to his most popular game series. In the developer commentary for the game, Gonzalez thanks fans for their continued support adding he intends to focus on other projects now that he has ended his famous series.

The series that began with Ben Jordan: Paranormal Investigator Case 1 – In Search of the Skunk-Ape in 2004 comes to a close with this eighth game. It has lasted for eight games with two enhanced remakes of the first two entries.

Receiving praise from critics and fans alike, the series has gamers play as Ben Jordan, a college graduate turned freelance paranormal investigator. Players aid him as he travels the globe solving paranormal cases using just his wits and cunning. The independently made game series has become well known in gaming circles for its strong writing, implementation of supernatural legends, and for its strong throwback style to older adventure games such as Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Father.

The game is available now to download at no cost here. Gamers who have yet play the first seven games should do so in order to better acquaint themselves with the story leading up to the final installment. Those can be downloaded at the games official website.

Jonathan Anson

Jonathan Anson

Jonathan has been a lover of video games since his father brought home a Windows 95 computer. When he's not doing that he indulges in his other passion: writing. Jonathan holds an AA degree in Journalism from Saddleback College in Southern California.
Jonathan Anson
Jonathan Anson

Latest posts by Jonathan Anson (see all)

tags: , , , ,

Related Posts

MISTOVER releases October 10

MISTOVER Releases New Trailer & Goes to TwitchCon

Sep 19th, 2019No Comments

Professor Lupo and His Horrible Pets Releases July 11

Professor Lupo and His Horrible Pets Releases July 11

Jul 3rd, 2019No Comments

Killer Queen Black Retail Release

Killer Queen Black Comes to Retail This Summer for Switch

May 28th, 2019No Comments

Little Friends: Cats & Dogs Releases on May 28.

Little Friends: Cats & Dogs Releases on May 28

May 22nd, 2019No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verify That You Are Human... *

Top Articles